Published!!

I have exciting news! My first two soil life illustrations have just been printed in a very cool Norwegian garden book called “Hageboka” written by Morten Bragdø. This is a big milestone for me as an artist and I’m super excited!

The illustrations are featured in a section that introduces the soil ecosystem, which most gardeners are unaware of, since most of it is on a microscopic scale. When I drew these, my intention was to try to make the microscopic soil world a little less abstract and easier for non-biology nerds to grasp. I think they serve that purpose nicely combined with Morten’s writing! The book itself is beautiful all around and I’m very proud to be a part of it.

I recently received a copy of my own. I haven’t had time to read it all yet, but I’ve flipped through it and it looks like it has a lot of info that will be helpful for us as we get started with our new gardens this coming spring so that’s an added bonus. Here’s a picture of the page with my artwork:

Hageboka.jpg

The title, in case you don’t read Norwegian, is something like “The most important thing is often invisible to the eye”.

Here are the drawings up close, in case you didn’t see my previous posts about them (here and here).

This has been a very motivating experience that has really built up my confidence as an artist. I hope I can find more opportunities to share my work in this way. I think I might have found myself a little niche; having a passion for both biology and drawing.

If you’re interested in buying the book (and you read Norwegian), you can find it here.

If you would like to use my existing artwork in a publication or display, or if you want to discuss commissions of any kind, feel free to contact me using the contact button above, or you can email me directly: artborean@gmail.com.

7 thoughts on “Published!!

  1. Wow, congratulations. We are so pleased for you and so proud of you. Grandpa and I were having coffee with some friends and told them about your art work. Grandpa showed them some of it too. They were very impressed. We will tell them about this as well. We are thrilled with how you are doing. Going out now, will be home later. Love, Nana

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. Congrats!
    I’ve just been tooling around your blog… Very interesting! Soil is a huge part of this planet and interesting for me, as plants grow in it 😋 Your drawings are very beautiful and detailed. I look forward to seeing more and of course, seeing the chickens! 🐔🐔🐓

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

